Most Unlikely Candidate

This really spoke volumes to me…I hope it does the same for you!

Wanted: The Most Unlikely Candidates – A Devotional by Gloria Copeland

God can use ordinary people to do absolutely extraordinary things. The Bible tells us in Judges 6-7 about a time in the history of Israel when its enemies, the Midianites and the Amalekites, were ruthlessly attacking. These Canaanites destroyed Israel’s crops and herds and left the entire nation in poverty. When the Israelites cried out to the Lord to raise up a leader to deliver them from the situation, God chose Gideon for the job.

Talk about an unlikely candidate! Gideon spent his days hiding from the Midianites in a winepress. By his own admission, he was from the weakest family in Israel…and he was afraid. Even so, the angel God sent to inform him of his assignment greeted him by saying, “The Lord is with you, you mighty man of valor!” (Judges 6:12, NKJV). When given his assignment from the Lord, Gideon said, “How can I?” Does that sound familiar? God’s answer is still the same today: “Surely, I will be with you.” In the end, Gideon’s army defeated the enemies. Why? Because it wasn’t based on Gideon and what he could and couldn’t do but it was the Lord and His ability and what He did through Gideon.

It’s important that we get our minds off ourselves and forget about our natural abilities. When you get your attention off yourself and fix your mind on pleasing God and being a blessing to others, you’ll be able to push the fear out of the way and do whatever the Lord tells you to do. If you make a mistake, just correct it and go on. Keep following God and His plan and you’ll continue improving and developing the hidden abilities God wants to bring out in you.

2 thoughts on “Most Unlikely Candidate

  1. That’s so funny that you wrote on that subject because I was just reading in one of my books tonight and one of the things I highlighted kind of goes along with this. It said “A little bit of nothing in the hands of ordinary people, can accomplish extraordinary things through the power of God.” I think He is sending us a message. 🙂

    Like

  2. Mom…you are such a blessing to me and anything you write speaks to my heart. I am so beyond lucky to be your child. God has blessed me with the best mother. I only hope that I can be half the mother you are, to my baby. I miss you too..more than you can imagine. I wish I could see you more..but there is never a time of day I don’t think about you. I love you with all my heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

