God of Second Chances

Are you feeling discouraged? Feel like you’ve failed or maybe feel disqualified in some way? I’m here to encourage you today! It doesnt matter what you feel like. You can’t be ruled by your emotions. He doesn’t change His mind about you! Rise up and speak what His Word says!

His Word says in Jeremiah 29:11 – For I know the thoughts and plans I have for you, says the Lord, thoughts and plans for welfare and peace and not for evil, to give you hope in your final outcome.

AND, the good news is He doesn’t keep score. Even though we mess up, He sees the end result. He sees what He had in mind for you from the beginning and He keeps His eyes on that goal.

Look at Peter’s life – after he denied Jesus, not once, but, 3 times, Jesus still gave him an assignment. He said, Feed My Sheep.” He looks past ALL our failures and mistakes and looks to who we are in Him! You see, He already knows everything about us. He knows our weaknesses.He knows us better than we know ourselves.

In Luke 22:31) Jesus said, Simon Peter, listen! Satan has asked that (all of) you be given to him (out of the power and keeping of God), that he might sift you like grain. V. 32) But I have prayed especially for you, Peter that your own faith may not fail; and when you yourself have turned again, strengthen and establish your brothers. v. 33) Simon Peter said to Him, Lord, I am ready to go with you both to prison and death. v. 34) But Jesus said to Peter you will deny Me three times. We see that happen in verses 56 -61. In verse 62, Peter went out and wept bitterly. You can read the same account in John 18:17-27.

In John chapter 21 after Jesus appeared to the disciples for the third time, He restored Peter and affirmed His calling, saying, “Feed My Lambs.” ( John 21:14-17)

His gifts and callings are irrovocable. (not able to be changed or reversed, final)

Romans 11:29 For God’s gifts and His call are irrovocable, He never withdraws them when once they are given and He does not change His mind about those to whom He gives His grace or to whom He sends His call.

Psalm 119:89 His Word is forever settled in heaven!

Scripture Reference:

Jeremiah 29:11
Luke 22:31-34, 56-62
John 18:17-27, 21:14-17
Romans 11:29
Psalm 119:89

Prayer:

Lord, thank you for Your Word today that encourages and uplifts me when I am feeling discouraged. Thank You for the good plans you have had for me from the beginning of time. I know there is hope in You! Thank You for loving me even when I have failed You. Help me to find my strength in You. Draw me closer to You to find that strength. I will rise up and speak Your word over my life and move forward in my assignment. Thank You that Your Word is forever settled in heaven! Amen!

Leave a Reply

